init.d - initialization and termination scripts for changing
     init states




     /etc/init.d is a  directory  containing  initialization  and
     termination  scripts for changing init states. These scripts
     are linked when appropriate to files  in  the  rc?.d  direc-
     tories, where `?' is a single character corresponding to the
     init state. See init(1M) for definitions of the states.

     File  names  in  rc?.d   directories   are   of   the   form
     [SK]nn<init.d  filename>,  where  S  means start this job, K
     means kill this job, and nn is the relative sequence  number
     for killing or starting the job.

     When entering  a  state  (init  S,0,2,3,etc.)  the  rc[S0-6]
     script  executes  those  scripts in /etc/rc[S0-6].d that are
     prefixed with K followed by those scripts prefixed  with  S.
     When  executing  each  script  in  one  of the /etc/rc[S0-6]
     directories, the /sbin/rc[S0-6] script passes a single argu-
     ment.  It  passes  the  argument 'stop' for scripts prefixed
     with K and the argument 'start' for scripts prefixed with S.
     There  is  no  harm  in applying the same sequence number to
     multiple scripts. In this case the  order  of  execution  is
     deterministic but unspecified.

     Guidelines for selecting sequence numbers  are  provided  in
     README  files  located in the directory associated with that
     target state. For example,  /etc/rc[S0-6].d/README.  Absence
     of a README file indicates that there are currently no esta-
     blished guidelines.

     Do not put /etc/init.d in your $PATH.  Having this directory
     in  your  $PATH can cause unexpected behavior.  The programs
     in /etc/init.d are associated with init state  changes  and,
     under  normal  circumstances, are not intended to be invoked
     from a command line.


     Example 1: Example of /sbin/rc2.

     When changing to init  state  2  (multi-user  mode,  network
     resources  not exported), /sbin/rc2 is initiated by the init
     process. The following steps are performed by /sbin/rc2.

     1. In the  directory  /etc/rc2.d  are  files  used  to  stop
        processes  that  should  not  be  running in state 2. The
        filenames are  prefixed  with  K.  Each  K  file  in  the
        directory  is  executed  (by  /sbin/rc2)  in alphanumeric
        order when the system enters init state  2.  See  example

     2. Also in the rc2.d  directory  are  files  used  to  start
        processes  that  should be running in state 2. As in Step
        1, each S file is executed.

     Assume the file /etc/init.d/netdaemon is a script that  will
     initiate networking daemons when given the argument 'start',
     and will terminate the daemons if given the argument 'stop'.
     It    is   linked   to   /etc/rc2.d/S68netdaemon,   and   to
     /etc/rc0.d/K67netdaemon.   The   file   is    executed    by
     /etc/rc2.d/S68netdaemon  start  when init state 2 is entered
     and by /etc/rc0.d/K67netdaemon stop when shutting the system




     /sbin/rc2 has references to the obsolescent rc.d  directory.
     These  references  are  for  compatibility  with old INSTALL
     scripts. New INSTALL scripts should use the init.d directory
     for   related   executables.   The  same  is  true  for  the
     shutdown.d directory.

Man(1) output converted with man2html